Marr travel to take on 'Green Machine'

Marr travel to take on 'Green Machine'

By stephen Allam
4 October
Share via

Another crunch game in the Premiership as we head to Mansfield Park

Colin Sturgeon given close attention at Mansfield
Stephen Allam

Hawick vs Marr Rugby - Tennent's Premiership - 3pm KO at Mansfield Park

Cartha QP vs Marr 2nd XV - Tennent's Reserve West 1 - 2pm KO at Dumbreck

Marr 3rd XV vs Dalziel - Tennent's Reserve West 3 - 3pm KO at Fullarton

Marr travel to take on ‘The Green Machine’.

This Saturday Marr travel to Mansfield Park to take on Hawick. Craig Redpath will be determined to keep the momentum going, but will know that this in yet another match where no less than a solid performance could result in defeat.

Two years ago Marr manage a famous win away to Hawick, when they won narrowly by a single point. However in Marr’s home match, Hawick turned the first result on its head, by winning at Fullarton which was crucial in our relegation from the Premiership. Hawick achieved this result by using their forwards to keep possession and not allowing Marr enough ball to create any pattern of play.

We know travelling to the borders is never easy and we know Hawick coach will be demanding a totally committed performance, with the likes of Bruce McNeil leading by example.

Marr field an unchanged pack which will no doubt please the Marr support, as our forwards have shown great control in both set piece and in the loose. Tries have been scored by every position in our pack which demonstrates that we are not reliant on specific individuals. A milestone is reached by Ewan Hamilton-Bulger who will make his 50th 1st XV appearance. Ewan has been an important figure for us on and off the pitch in recent seasons with his lineout ability alongside his development officer work. Congratulations!

The backs make two changes, both due to injuries. Scott Bickerstaff sits this match out with a leg knock and try scorer last week, Jack Scott is out with a neck strain. However, with Marr’s strength and depth on show, we welcome back from injury experienced centre Gregor Paxton. Marr’s Fijian former under 20 international, Iosefo Turaga will be excited to get his first start of the season. Iosefo has played all four league matches this season, however these have all come from the bench. He has already scored two tries and will be determined to show Craig Redpath that he deserves his starting place.

Marr’s bench is as strong as ever with two centurions in the fit again Gregor Ness and William Farquhar who made a massive impact off the bench last week

Marr Rugby 1st XV to face Hawick

1. Brandon Sweet (5)
2. Ollie Rossi (109)
3. Calvin Henderson (27)
4. Ewan Hamilton-Bulger (49) *50th Cap
5. Fraser Grant (153)
6. Mackenzie Pearce (VC) (83)
7. Robert Brown (5)
8. Benedict Grant (5)
9. Jack Preston (4)
10. Colin Sturgeon (117)
11. Iosefo Turaga (5)
12. Conor Bickerstaff (C) (177)
13. Gregor Paxton (53)
14. Richard Dalgleish (40)
15. Greg Montgomery (4)

16. Jamie Drummond (5)
17. William Farquhar (101)
18. Josh Harvey (1)
19. Cody Cunningham (5)
20. Gregor Ness (122)

Marr’s 2nd XV travel to Cartha which will be a tough match for them but they will be looking to get back on their winning ways. Centurion Kyle Vallance returns to the squad after a 2 week holiday and will look to make an impact from the bench.

1. Neil Wallace
2. Blair Campbell
3. Isaac Renucci
4. Callum Craig
5. Michael Quinn
6. Kyle McCulloch
7. Callum Steel
8. Josh Evans (C)
9. Alex McCormack
10. Gregor Beckwith
11. TBC
12. Murray Beckwith
13. Scott MacDonald
14. Ryan Brown
15. Liam Wallace

16. Mark Allison
17. Murray Blair
18. Kyle Vallance
19. Rory Craig

Top of the table, Marr’s 3rds will be confident of another home win when they entertain Dalziel 3rd XV at Fullarton. So if you can’t make it to Hawick or Glasgow get along and witness our entertaining 3rd XV

1. Kevin Helton
2. Sean Duff (C)
3. Kevin Davey
4. Darren Morgan
5. Jim McNiven
6. Adam McPherson
7. Alastair Scoular
8. Scott Grant
9. Rory MacColl
10. Thomas Watkins
11. Stephen Beveridge
12. George Dunn
13. Euan McGerty
14. Craig Starkey
15. Roddy McIntyre

16. Craig Miller
17. Graeme Currie
18. Gordon Anderson
19. John Calder
20. Roddy Fell
21. Alistair Barclay
22. Cameron Stewart

Share via